Academy of Ancient Music under the Direction of Pavlo Beznosiukat the Concertgebouw in Bruges

Weds 4th February 2009 at 20hrs

The Cambridge Society of Belgium is delighted to announce that the Illustrious Academy of Ancient Music (one of the University’s resident ensembles) will be playing at the Concert Gebow in Brugge on 4th February 2009.

The program (see below), an homage to the greatness of Nature, contains popular as well as less known works and has been prepared under the direction of violin virtuoso Pavlo Beznosiuk.

Many will choose to adjourn to a restaurant together afterwards where we will endeavour to attract certain key members of the musical ensemble. In addition, for those of you who without transport, we will organise car sharing nearer the time.

If you are interested in attending, please contact:

The Programme

Environmental pollution, global warming, floods and devastating hurricanes have all been the preoccupations of newspapers, magazines and journals over recent years. Taking careless pleasure in nature is not appropriate nowadays. The Academy of Ancient Music offers you the chance though! Nature and her elements have always been a major source of inspiration to composers. Nature has inspired numerous compositions either as an overwhelmingly and destructive power or for its beauty, grace and serenity. With Vivaldi’s Four Seasons as a guide, we make our way through heavenly fields and gurgling streams. The Academy of Ancient Music leads us through compositions by three contemporaries: Vivaldi, Purcell and Handel. Despite their stylistic differences they are for once united by Nature’s driving force.

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)

  - violin concerto opus 8 'the four seasons'

     - ‘Like Clouds, Stormy Winds them Impelling’, aria from ‘The Triumph of time and truth’

Henry Purcell (1659-1695), from ‘The Fairy Queen’

     - ‘Thus the ever grateful spring’

     - ‘See, see my many colour’d fields’

     - Dance for the followers of night

     - ‘See even night herself is here’

     - Dance for the Haymakers

     - ‘Now the night is chas'd away’

Georg Friedrich Handel (1685-1759)

     - ‘Finche d'un Zeffiro Soave’, aria uit ‘Ezio’

     - ‘Da Tempesta’, aria uit ‘Giulio Cesare’

Ensemble: Academy of Ancient Music - direction and violin: Pavlo Beznosiuk - soprano: Elin Manahan Thomas